Maggie Welling, LMSW

“And still I Rise.” -Maya Angelou

She/Her/Hers

Columbia University School of Social Work, 2023/MS in Advanced Clinical Social Work Practice

Accepting new clients.

What’s therapy with me like? I focus on anxiety, depression, and trauma using a holistic, individualized, and eclectic approach. I incorporate elements from Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Acceptance and Commitment therapy (ACT), Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT), and Psychodynamic Therapy. Play Therapy & Family Systems Therapy also may be incorporated while working with children/adolescents/teens and families.

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT) helps to identify the connection between thoughts-behaviors-emotions and the influence they may have on each other. Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) stems from CBT but has an action oriented focused approach to accept the present/thought/feeling/situation without judgment and acknowledge, allow, accommodate, appreciate. ACT utilizes many mindfulness practices. Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (DBT) supports with emotional regulation and distress tolerance. Psychodynamic Therapy aims for self awareness and understanding of past/present behaviors by exploring individual’s past experience with present self thinking.

Play Therapy supports with creating a comfortable, relaxed, and engaging environment for individual/s. Play Therapy is often used with children, but can be incorporated in any session regardless of age. For children play therapy supports with expressing emotions/feelings, taking responsibility, improving social ques, etc. Family Systems Therapy incorporates the entire family in the therapeutic involvement to aim to support relationship in addressing how individual actions may impact the entire family.

How I’ve kept learning… I am on the Panel of Social Workers at Maryland Office of the Public Defender, Baltimore, where I conduct biopsychosocial and mental status examinations for justice-involved clients, review relevant records, write reentry and mitigation reports, and research and recommend community based services for the legal defense team. My job is to show the defendant as a person, not just the charge, with discussing mitigating evidence and community services for reentry.

Who do I work with? For individual therapy, I work with ages 10+, including adolescents, teenagers, young adults, and adults. I also practice family therapy with kids ages 4-10 on a case by case basis, and with adolescents and teenagers.

My impacting identities are… My educational background in social work impacts my understanding of the intersection of mental health and social justice. I am a dog mom… my dog may be in the background sleeping on the couch in a telehealth session!

I feel allied/aware/informed/knowledgeable about… mental health advocate, racial justice advocate, trauma survivors advocate, gender equity advocate, criminal justice reform advocate.

I am the best fit for a client who… wants/needs a space to be heard. Individuals who prefer a collaborative approach, and sometimes a little bit of humor in their therapeutic journey.

I am not a good fit for a client who… prefers highly-structured sessions and expects quick “fixes.”

What makes me unique? My holistic and collaborative approach brings a sense of humility and ease. I believe that YOU are the expert in yourself, and I am just here to listen, support, and guide as needed. My work background in federal detention centers, public schools, and behavioral health clinics have granted me diverse experiences to be able to support and advocate for my clients while working in multilayered systems.

Most importantly, I will treat you as a person, and understand that you are not your trauma or diagnosis. You embody great strengths and together we will explore and empower those strengths.

 

The Practical Stuff

What insurances do I accept? I being paneled to be in network with Carefirst BCBS and Evernorth (previously known as Cigna).

What are my out-of-network rates? As a licensed clinician, my rates are $180 for an initial intake and $150 for subsequent 53+-minute sessions. Find more details about my out-of-network rates here.

Do I offer telehealth or in person sessions? I offer both telehealth and in-person sessions, depending on scheduling.

 

The Fun Stuff

Did you know… I lived in England for a summer.

Any pets? I have a dog named Louis.

What I’ve Learned Lately

  • Coming soon!

What I’ve Learned

  • Coming soon!

How to Give me A Buzz

The best way to contact me is… by email, at admin@honeybwellness.com .

 

Supervised By: 

Coming soon!

Skip to content